February 2019   
Upcoming Events
Bible Search
Administrative Council

The membership of the Administrative Council at Highland UMC  includes pastor(s), officers (chair, secretary, treasurer), lay members to annual conference, lay delegates, chairpersons of each work area, United Methodist Women and Men presidents, and members at-large. All other church members are invited to attend the meetings and participate in discussion, although only the Administrative Council members can vote.

In accordance with the Book of Discipline*, we are required at the minimum to organize into such a church council, as well as a committee on staff-parish relations, a committee on finance, a board of trustees, and a committee on lay leadership (formerly nominations).  Modifications and additions to this structure to support the needs of our ministry are allowed.  Currently, Highland UMC has several other committees (or "work areas") to do the work of our local church:  Youth/Parent Council, Children's Ministries, Family Ministries, Highlander's, Small Groups, Witness and Hospitality, Outreach and Missions, Footprints of Christ Ministry, and an Audit Committee.

Administrative Council and work area participants are nominated by the Lay Leadership (formerly Nominations) Committee for a typical term of three years.   Each work area's membership rotates in classes so that the entire committee does not turn over at once. Participation in a work area is a great way to meet people and get connected into our daily church life.  If you are interested in finding out more about a particular work area, you may contact the church office or the Pastor who chairs the Lay Leadership Committee.

Highland's Administrative Council meets every other month on the second Sunday at  6:00 p.m. in Fellowship Hall with a few exceptions.  Check the church calendar for the next scheduled meeting. We invite you to come!

Chair: Linda Huffman

Pastor: Roy Miller

Lay Leader: Pat Waters

Lay Delegate: Charlie Hardy

Board of Trustees Chair: Doug Wilkerson

Staff Parish Relations Chair: Karen Wilkerson

Finance Chair: Jean Gay

Recording Secretary: Kay McCarter

Worship Coordinator: Karen Wilkerson

United Methodist Women and Men Presidents: Karen Wilkerson and Mike Jones, respectively

Youth/Parent Council Chair: Jill Wright

Youth Delegates: Molly Hitaffer, Payton Thomas, Madison Wright

Children's Coordinator: Karen Coffey

Highlander's President: Bill Cline

Witness/Hospitality Coordinator: Ann Matthews

Communications Representative: Kay McCarter

Church Host/Hostess: Art & Cindy Meadows

Outreach and Missions, We Care Chair: Brady Shepherd, Footprints of  Christ Chair: Peggy Wilkerson

Members at Large: Class of 2019: Cheryl Gragg, Josh Coffey; Class of 2020: Ed Dale, Kay McCarter; Class of 2021: Arthur Sherrill, Margie Sherrill 

The Book of Disciple states that the Administrative Council is a group that "shall provide for planning and implementing a program of nurture, outreach, witness, and resources in the local church.  It shall also provide for the administration of its organization and temporal life.  It shall envision, plan, implement, and annually evaluate the mission and ministry of the church."